Slide Presentations

Bṛhaspati Jyotiṣa Course
A free online course for you to learn nice lessons on Vedic Astrology.

Sri Somanath Jyotirlinga

सोमनाथ ध्यान | somanātha dhyāna

ध्यायेत् महेश्वरं देवं स्वेतवर्णं चतुर्भुजं
त्रिशूलं डम्बरुं चैव खट्वाङ्गभे कपालजम्।
करेर्ददानं वरदं नागयज्ञोपवीतिनम्
भस्माभूषित सर्वाङ्गं पञ्चवक्त्रं त्रिलोचनम्॥
गिरिशं त्वं वृषारूढं शिवं त्वं सोमनाथं॥
dhyāyet maheśvaraṁ devaṁ svetavarṇaṁ caturbhujaṁ
triśūlaṁ ḍambaruṁ caiva khaṭvāṅgabhe kapālajam|
karerdadānaṁ varadaṁ nāgayajñopavītinam
bhasmābhūṣita sarvāṅgaṁ pañcavaktraṁ trilocanam||
giriśaṁ tvaṁ vṛṣārūḍhaṁ śivaṁ tvaṁ somanāthaṁ||

ॐ नमः शिवाय नमः सोमनाथाय
om namaḥ śivāya namaḥ somanāthāya

It is one of the twelve Jyotirliñga shrines of Lord Śiva. Somanāth means ‘Lord of the Moon God Soma’ or the ‘Lord of the Nectar of Immortality’ as Soma is that which keeps everything alive.

Eclipse Theory

SATURDAY June 26, 2010 PM: The Eclipse Factor in Charts
Types of eclipses Who are affected and how…we will study the real effect of eclipses on birth charts and understand the real nodal influences This is not a new theory but the teachings of Varahamihira

PDF #1: Eclipse Factor covers the entire basic theory of eclipses besides describing the Eclipse Classification and comparing it to the modern classification of eclipses. Details with pictures to understand their nature.

Śrī Akṣobhya

The word akṣobhya means immovable or imperturbable and is the opposite of kṣobha which means shaking, agitation and disturbance, tossing, trembling or emotional. Thus akṣobhya refers to that state of perfect calmness achieved as a result of perfect knowledge.
Ṣaḍākṣarī Mantra
In the Buddhist tradition, he is one of the five transcendent (tathāgata) buddhas. Tathāgata refers to the principal lord of a Buddha clan (there are five such lineages). Akṣobhya is lord of the vajra lineage (or Vajrāyana Buddhism). Just like the lord of the eastern direction Indra (Śakra), he rides an elephant.

Agni: The holy fire

Sri Agni is the adhidevata of the Sun and is the most revered deity of the agnihotri’s and brahmins of the vedic period. He has two wives named ‘Svaha’ and ‘Svadha’ who carry the offerings made by the devotees into the holoy fire (Agni devata) to the Gods and manes respectively. The three lokas are worshipped with the bija mantras ” OM bhu, Bhuva, Svah” respectively.